Through the Years

This page is sponsored by:

P. O. BOX 1671

**Points were not awarded during the 1909-15 and 1917-19 seasons.
They were assigned retroactively in 1927 and revised in 1951,
so all points and standings from those seasons should be considered unofficial.**

Season Series Champion Nationality
1905 AAA Barney Oldfield USA
1909 AAA George Robertson USA
1910 AAA Ray Harroun USA
1911 AAA Ralph Mulford USA
1912 AAA Ralph DePalma USA
1913 AAA Earl Cooper USA
1914 AAA Ralph DePalma USA
1915 AAA Earl Cooper USA
1916 AAA Dario Resta GBR
1917 AAA Earl Cooper USA
1918 AAA Ralph Mulford USA
1919 AAA Howdy Wilcox USA
1920 AAA Gaston Chevrolet FRA
1921 AAA Tommy Milton USA
1922 AAA Jimmy Murphy USA
1923 AAA Eddie Hearne USA
1924 AAA Jimmy Murphy USA
1925 AAA Peter DePaolo USA
1926 AAA Harry Hartz USA
1927 AAA Peter DePaolo USA
1928 AAA Louis Meyer USA
1929 AAA Louis Meyer USA
1930 AAA Billy Arnold USA
1931 AAA Louis Schneider USA
1932 AAA Bob Carey USA
1933 AAA Louis Meyer USA
1934 AAA Bill Cummings USA
1935 AAA Kelly Petillo USA
1936 AAA Mauri Rose USA
1937 AAA Wilbur Shaw USA
1938 AAA Floyd Roberts USA
1939 AAA Wilbur Shaw USA
1940 AAA Rex Mays USA
1941 AAA Rex Mays USA
1946 AAA Ted Horn USA
1947 AAA Ted Horn USA
1948 AAA Ted Horn USA
1949 AAA Johnnie Parsons USA
1950 AAA Henry Banks USA
1951 AAA Tony Bettenhausen USA
1952 AAA Chuck Stevenson USA
1952 NASCAR Buck Baker USA
1953 AAA Sam Hanks USA
1953 NASCAR Pete Allen USA
1954 AAA Jimmy Bryan USA
1955 AAA Bob Sweikert USA
1956 USAC Jimmy Bryan USA
1957 USAC Jimmy Bryan USA
1958 USAC Tony Bettenhausen USA
1959 USAC Rodger Ward USA
1960 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1961 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1962 USAC Rodger Ward USA
1963 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1964 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1965 USAC Mario Andretti USA
1966 USAC Mario Andretti USA
1967 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1968 USAC Bobby Unser USA
1969 USAC Mario Andretti USA
1970 USAC Al Unser USA
1971 USAC Joe Leonard USA
1972 USAC Joe Leonard USA
1973 USAC Roger McCluskey USA
1974 USAC Mario Andretti USA
1975 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1976 USAC Gordon Johncock USA
1977 USAC Tom Sneva USA
1978 USAC Tom Sneva USA
1979 CART Rick Mears USA
1979 USAC A. J. Foyt USA
1980 CART Johnny Rutherford USA
1980 USAC Johnny Rutherford USA
1981 CART Rick Mears USA
1981-82 USAC George Snider USA
1982 CART Rick Mears USA
1982-83 USAC Tom Sneva USA
1983 CART Al Unser USA
1983-84 USAC Rick Mears USA
1984 CART Mario Andretti USA
1985 CART Al Unser USA
1984-85 USAC Danny Sullivan USA
1986 CART Bobby Rahal USA
1985-86 USAC Bobby Rahal USA
1987 CART Bobby Rahal USA
1986-87 USAC Al Unser USA
1988 CART Danny Sullivan USA
1987-88 USAC Rick Mears USA
1989 CART Emerson Fittipaldi BRA
1988-89 USAC Emerson Fittipaldi BRA
1990 CART Al Unser, Jr. USA
1989-90 USAC Arie Luyendyk NED
1991 CART Michael Andretti USA
1990-91 USAC Rick Mears USA
1992 CART Bobby Rahal USA
1991-92 USAC Al Unser, Jr. USA
1993 CART Nigel Mansell GBR
1992-93 USAC Emerson Fittipaldi BRA
1994 CART Al Unser, Jr. USA
1993-94 USAC Al Unser, Jr. USA
1995 CART Jacques Villeneuve (II) CAN
1994-95 USAC Jacques Villeneuve (II) CAN
1996 CART Jimmy Vasser USA
1996 IRL Buzz Calkins/Scott Sharp USA/USA
1996-97 IRL Tony Stewart USA
1997 CART Alex Zanardi ITA
1998 CART Alex Zanardi ITA
1998 IRL Kenny Bräck SWE
1999 CART Juan Montoya COL
1999 IRL Greg Ray USA
2000 CART Gil de Ferran BRA
2000 IRL Buddy Lazier USA
2001 CART Gil de Ferran BRA
2001 IRL Sam Hornish, Jr. USA
2002 CART Cristiano da Matta BRA
2002 IRL Sam Hornish, Jr. USA
2003 CART Paul Tracy CAN
2003 IRL Scott Dixon NZL
2004 CCWS Sébastien Bourdais FRA
2004 IRL Tony Kanaan BRA
2005 CCWS Sébastien Bourdais FRA
2005 IRL Dan Wheldon GBR
2006 CCWS Sébastien Bourdais FRA
2006 IRL Sam Hornish, Jr. USA
2007 CCWS Sébastien Bourdais FRA
2007 IRL Dario Franchitti GBR
2008 IRL Scott Dixon NZL
2009 IRL Dario Franchitti GBR
2010 IRL Dario Franchitti GBR
2011 INDYCAR Dario Franchitti GBR
2012 INDYCAR Ryan Hunter-Reay USA
2013 INDYCAR Scott Dixon NZL
2014 INDYCAR Will Power AUS
2015 INDYCAR Scott Dixon NZL
2016 INDYCAR Simon Pagenaud FRA
2017 INDYCAR Josef Newgarden USA